GR5 Summary

Here’s a summary of my thoughts about the GR5, how I prepared for it and what to consider. I hope this will help you to plan your own hike along the Alpine part of the GR5.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_5_00_web

POSITIVE:

* The weather was very nice in July. It was too hot only during the last days and fortunately it didn’t rain too much either.

* It’s hard to hope for any better landscapes than this. Good thing is that the scenery changes along the trail so you’ll feel the progress and won’t feel numb about the constant line of mountains.

* For me worked well the combination of wild camping and campsites.

* To hike one month solo is unbelievably rich experience.

* Plenty of services throughout the hike.

* Easy to navigate, good paths and signposts.

* The walking felt strong and I avoided any blisters and muscle pains.

* It wasn’t too crowded. Some sections were more popular especially at weekends but several days passed by without seeing much people at all. And in the morning it was always very quiet to walk (between 6-9 am).

* Lot of wildlife; marmots, chamoix, bouquetins and even a golden eagle.

NEGATIVE:

* I don’t like to deal with the sheep dogs.

* I would have liked to meet more like minded long distance hikers.

* The huge amount of snow this year.

* My shoes got broken in the end.

* Nuisance of the language barrier ( French).

GEAR:

My basic three were (about 3,5 kilos in total) Vaude Power Lizard tent, Osprey Exos 58 and RAB Alpine 400 down sleeping bag with a Thermarest cell foam mattress. Then rain gear and warm clothes as the wind and rain can be cold together. During the night the temps went sometimes down to +5C so my warm sleeping bag was quite alright.

I’m not using electronic devices but Suunto Core watch, which has a very nice altimeter. It was useful to monitor how much there was still to climb or to go down.

No crampons, ropes or other mountaneering equipment is needed but I advice to have walking poles. I bought the gas after landing in Geneva. There’s a Athleticum sports store just a half an hour walk from the airport.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_0_00a_web

MAPS:

With the guidebook of Paddy Dillon (Cicerone Press) one manages well but as I was going alone and not speaking French I decided to have some maps as well. I ordered online four IGN 1:100 000 maps, that will cover the whole route (144, 151, 158 and 165). Even if I cut off the extra halfs, they were useful to see more around the narrow corridor of the guidebook map, and to plan possible detours. I also printed maps from google of bigger urban areas, as they tend to be tricky to navigate.

GR5 IGN maps

Beforehand I marked all the possible camp sites and wild camping spots in to my maps. I tried to gather the info by reading other peoples trip reports.

TRAINING:

I knew from the previous trips how the days will be and what condition I needed to be to cope with my planned schedule. Good basic fitness is enough if you plan your daily schedule according to it.

During the previous winter I tried to cross country ski as much as possible, at least once a week a long half a day exercise.

In spring I biked to work daily for couple of months, one hour per way.

After the snow had melt I did few longer day hikes at the weekends with a full backpack. I also went several times to a local ski hill to hike it up and down so that I made at least 500 vertical meters per exercise.

Just before the trip I went three times to see a masseur because of my legs felt quite tight. (Best decision ever!)

DAY RHYTM:

For me starting the day early comes natural but in my opinion all the factors speak for it too. In the morning is very quiet even until 9 am, when the people have finished their breakfast at refuges and are beginning their days. It was fantastic to be alone with the mountains plus one sees much more wildlife then.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_11_08_web

For me the most important factor was, however, to avoid the typical Alpine afternoon thunderstorms. More than once the storm hit just when I had my tent up.

I like walking fast and as I had no one to chat with, I kept quite fast pace. Only few times I was very exhausted and close to my reasonable limits. I streched well every night and massaged my feet and muscles.

EATING:

I ate only fresh bananas or a muesli bar at the camp in the morning and kept my real breakfast break after walking an hour or two. I then ate plenty of choko muesli, some cookies and buns.

For lunch I usually had some bread, cheese and sausages. I kept the lunch break when my body began to ask for it.

I tried to snack all the time; raisins, bars and hell of a lot of chokolate. In the afternoon I might keep a second lunch break too.

If I arrived early to camp, I boiled some noodles or fast porridge to get some warm meal. Then I waited until seven to be served at a restaurant. If I was wild camping I ate either adventure food or fast rice with dried premade soup ingredients. I was carrying five adventure meals from home and tried to have all the time food for three days with me. From the supermarkets I tried to buy always something fresh, fruits and juices.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_9_09_web

I carried 1,75 liters of water with me, which was sufficient for me. There is plenty of water available and I didn’t need to drink from the streams at all. Not very advisable either as there are plenty of animals in great heights. I didn’t use any purification as the undrinkable water spots are marked so.

EXPENSES:

During the hike it went like this:

Accommodation 213 euros (1 night in a hotel for 90 eur, 2 nights in a refuge for 17 + 18 euros, and 13 nights at campsites averaging 6,8 eur/night)

Food 374 euros ( eating in restaurants and groceries both 187 eur)

So in total 587 eur (23,5 eur / day)

RESOURCES:

http://www.grfive.com/

http://drw.me.uk/RedYeti/2010/06/29/gr5-the-book-a-gr5-honeymoon/

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=69163

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/track_notes_gr5_in_france.html

http://billtomlinson.net/me/Alpstrek.html

http://onefootatatime.wordpress.com/page/3/

If you’re going early in the season, you might want to check the current trail and mountain conditions. As the Chamonix is close to the beginning, these websites are useful:

http://www.ohm-chamonix.com/mountain-conditions-12100000.html

http://www.autourdumontblanc.com/en/index.cfm/general-conditions.html

Please feel free to ask if having any questions!:)

8 thoughts on “GR5 Summary

  1. I’ve been thinking about the APR or TMB, but this summary of yours on the GR5 is pushing me towards the GR5šŸ™‚

    The only hike I’ve done in the past was from Le-Puy En-Velay to St. Jean Pied-de-Port and from Roncesvalles to Terradillos de Templarios.

    Did in 2 parts, first one being 10 days of walking and the last one continued from Leon on a bicycle all the way to Finisterra.

    Managed to get a tendinitis both times, thus 2 trips and a cycling in the end. Hopefully I learned something about my feet for future reference.

    Have you thought of doing any of the three routes that traverse across the Pyrenees? GR10, GR11 or the HRP.

    Thank you for the good stories and fabulous photos!

    • Terve Niko,

      Nice to hear you’ve liked these!

      Is the Le-Puy to St. Jean Pied-de-Port the GR65 that covers over 700km?

      I have the Cicerone guidebooks of both GR10 and GR11 so they’re definitely on the table. However, I’m not sure yeat at all what kind of hike I’ll be doing this year. One month of hiking is quite selfish way to spend holidays:) Other interesting long route is the GTA, Italian Alpine Traverse (you’ll find preview of the guidebook from Google books)

      APR is very nice too, and one week shorter. I would like to hike it again as it was my first hike I might feel it now in another way.

      Let me know later where you’ll be heading this year!
      -Antti

      • Tervehdys,

        Yes, the Le-Puy to St. Jean Pied-de-Port is the GR65 indeed. The best section being From Le-Puy to Conques.

        Plans are also to connect the dots and do the Geneve to Le-Puy at some point and also re-do the Le-Puy to Conques.

        At the moment the plans for this year are to head down to the Balkans with a companion, for a road trip combined with day hikes to the 2000m+ peaks around Croatia, Montenegro and Bosnia & Herzegovina.

        -Niko-

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience and giving advice!

    Last year I walked the GR20 and found it quite nice to meet a lot of people at the campsites and during hiking, even if some people think the GR20 is too crowded.

    That’s why I’m looking for a similar hike this year (somewhere in Europe). Something with tent but where I also met other hikers… do you have any reccomendations?

    It sounds like there are not many hikers with tent on the GR5.

    • Hi Jo,

      I know what you mean. From my experience the GR20 has been also the most communal as most of the people have the same daily schedule. You really get to know the people and is nice to share the hike together.

      But in the Alps there are such a variety of routes and possibilities that most of the people won’t be doing the same things as you. Or, it’s hard to find people with same daily schedule. And most of the peole use the refuges anyway. I don’t how it would be along the most popular routes like TMB or Alta Vias…

      I met mostly caravan people at campsites, and even if being very nice, it’s not the same feeling. And while walking the encounters with hikers tend to be quite short. It might get more busy a bit later in the season though as I was quite early on the move.

      In Scotland while walking the West Highland Way at least most of the people were doing the same thing and I found some nice company at campsites.

      Sorry I can’t really point out anything quite similar as GR20.
      -Antti

  3. Hi Antti,

    I really enjoyed reading your trip reports before Christmas and this post is a great summary too. I don’t think I could walk on my own for a month.

    Well done!

    marketa

Leave a Reply

