GR5 – DAY25, to NICE

DAY 25, ST. ANTOINE CHAPEL to NICE (airport)

Ascent: 1029 m

Descent: 1618 m

Distance: 40 km

Time on trail: 4:30 – 15:30+

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_01_web

The night went all wrong. It was too hot to be inside of my sleeping bag but fierce mosquitos took any chance they had to suck my blood. Hours passed by slowly.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_02_web

At 4am I got fed up and packed my stuff. In half an hour I was on the move, walking carefully with the light of my headtorch along the path of loose stones. The red moon was disappearing behind the mountain line and the morning began finally  to reveal itself.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_03_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_04_web

I passed by villages and hills before I began to see the sea more and more. As a final test the sun tried to scorch me making the midday insanely hot.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_05_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_06_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_07_web

There it was, lying just beneath me, the legendary Nice, where many trails and stories end and begin. I had done it and connected the dots; in 2009 I had walked through the Swiss Alps finishing the hike to Lake Geneva, in 2011 I had began the GR20 from Nice and now I had walked the trail between. It was time to raise the hands in the air!

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_08_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_09_web

As my airline charged me extra 40eur for the walking poles, I couln’t take them back home anymore. Instead, I left them leaning to a tree where the trail finishes and street walking begins. It was funny how I felt so sad leaving the loyal companions behind. I hope someone in the need will find them.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_10_web

Smile on my face I went straight down to the heart of a big city and tried to navigate my way to the shore. I can’t really express the feeling when there was no more to walk, just a blue flat horizon. After a while I went to swim and tried to wash myself after a sweaty day.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_11_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_25_12_web

It was late afternoon and I still wanted to walk until the airport. I followed the sea side boulevard about 6 km before reaching the terminal. I cooked outside the rest of my food before going inside to sleep the last nigth on the hard terminal floor. My flight would leave home the following morning, after an unforgettable one month adventure.

Big thanks to everyone for your support before, during and after the hike! I will write some general thoughts about the GR5 after Xmas but now it’s time to wish Happy Holidays to all of you!

5 thoughts on “GR5 – DAY25, to NICE

    • Hiiii Mike!

      Thanks a lot!
      Really a great and enjoyable adventure. But do you know the Grande Traversata delle Alpi? I have the guidebook and it looks very similar and exciting although I might not be able to do this year that long hike.

      All the best for this year!
      -Antti

    • The Grande Traversata delle Alpi that spans across the Piedmont region (55 days), was very much in demand in the 80s. Lately fewer and fewer people were interested in it and most of its walkers these days come from Germany and other countries. Unfortunately I don’t know it personally (to my ashame) so I don’t know its current conditions. It should be walked in summer.

      Best luck with your excellent mountaneering curriculum!

      –Michele

Leave a Reply

