GR5 – DAY24, to ST.ANTOINE CHAPEL

DAY 24, ST.DALMAS to ST. ANTOINE CHAPEL (Utelle)

Ascent: 1155 m

Descent: 1732 m

Distance: 34 km

Time on trail: 5:40 – 16:40

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_01_web

I was eager to start the day early and climb up to the col right behind the village. The trail went through a dense forest before I saw an open col, Col des Deux Caires (1921m) and the moment I had long been waiting for was there; I finally saw the Mediterranean. Barely though as it was hazy, but there it was, the finish line. I had crossed the Alps alone and I felt quite emotional.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_01a_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_02_web

The next day it would be all over, although there was still some 60km to walk. The trail went through endless forests and cols after another. The walking began to feel pointless after the long waited moment had now happened.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_03_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_04_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_05_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_06_web

The day was hotter than before and I was exhausted when reaching finally the hilltop village of Utelle. There was nowhere to camp, so I kept walking one hour further to an old chapel for a possible bivouac spot.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_07_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_08_web

The last evening on trail was warm, very Mediterranean, and I think I was able to smell even the sea breeze. I didn’t care to pitch my tent as I was quite tired after so many days of constant walking. But I was still ready for the final march – 40 km until the Nice airport! Realizing that made me sad and joyful at the same time; the sole purpose and goal I had had for the last month was now about to come to its end.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_24_09_web

Leave a Reply

