GR5 – DAY23. to ST.DALMAS

DAY 23, REFUGE DE LONGON to ST.DALMAS

Ascent: 1050 m

Descent: 1675 m

Distance: 27 km

Time on trail: 6:30 – 14:45

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_00_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_01_web

I left the refuge before the others. In a nutshell the idea of the day was to cross the deep and forested Vallée de la Tinée, which runs all the way until Nice. Taste of a victory was getting so strong that I felt like flying forward.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_02_web

For my disappointment, I was not really able to see the sea yet from this vantage point, but the end of the mountain line!

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_03_web

In the next village I got suddenly a new friend as the village dog wanted to lead me from Roure to St. Sauveaur sur Tinée, over 600 vertical meters lower. I couldn’t get rid of the dog no matter how I tried. I was a mean friend. The dog clearly knew the path down and wanted to lead me there. I mean it did not just follow me, no no, it wanted to go first! At path junctions it chose few times different paths and I went alone to another directios, some times even 10 minutes, before the dog appeared and led our team again. After one hour I reached the busy town of St. Sauveaur sur Tinée where there was finally too much distraction and our friendship abruptly ended. Perhaps it looked for someone else going back up again. But whenever I remember that day I remember also that sympathetic and funny dog.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_04_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_05_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_06_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_07_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_08_web

After St. Sauveaur sur Tinée the day began to feel crazy hot under the Mediterranean sun. It was an exhausting last section to St. Dalmas and a nice campsite over there. I was feeling more excited than ever; the next day I would see the sea FOR SURE!

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_23_09_web

Leave a Reply

