GR5 – DAY 0, Advent Calendar

In July 2013 I solo hiked the most famous part of the GR5 long distance walking route, The Grand Traverse of the Alps, from Lake Geneva to Nice, roughly 600km over the beautiful French Alps. I have finally finished editing the photos so it’s time to post them here. As the amount of trail days goes almost hand in hand with the days before Xmas Eve, I’ll post every day one trail day, like an advent calendar. Don’t forget to check the one and only, true outdoor advent calendar at Hiking in Finland!

I won’t be writing much to these posts because I’m currently working with a book about my hike. So let’s save the details and some writing energy into that!

Here’s the day zero, the day of travelling to the starting point of the GR5:

 

DAY 0, HELSINKI – GENEVA – ST.GINGOLPH – LA PLANCHE

Ascent: 800 m

Descent: 0 m

Distance: 7 km

Time on trail: 15:30 – 18:00

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_0_00a_web

All my gear got nicely into my Osprey Exos 58. The most important gear being my RAB Alpine 400 down sleeping bag and Vaude Power lizard tent, both weighing about one kilo. My idea was to sleep in a tent as many nights as possible. I took dry dinner food and snacks for a week. In total the weight of the backpack was around 13 kilos, plus the water.

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_0_00b_web

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_0_00_web

I took an early morning Finnair flight to Geneva, then a bus to Evian and finally a taxi to the village of St.Gingolph at the border of France and Switzerland. Feeling confident at the beginning of the trail. I had read about a nice meadow couple of hours further on the trail…

ARantanen_GR5_2013_Day_0_01_web

Hard day of travelling behind but finally began to feel relaxed between the first line of mountains. From now on it would be easy; there’s the trail, just keep walking. Heavy rain in the evening.

Leave a Reply

