Sunday walk: Last training 26km

Exactly in one week from now I’ll be tackling the first kilometers of the Cleveland Way in UK, so today’s walk was supposed to serve as some kind of last moment training. Today I didn’t pack my backpack full though, the purpose was merely to keep up with the walking routine.

Todays route + 1,7km from station to home

I started early as usual after eating my morning porridge, stepping out from the door around 7 am. The Sun was up already and it looked to become a really nice and warm day. During the first two hours of the walk I saw one after another squirrels, pheasants and city rabbits. It was quite funny how many there were enjoying the human free morning.

And endless looking straight leading to Paloheinä outdoor lodge at the halfway point. 

My plan for the day was to walk through the long central park recreation area which would lead all the way until Pasila, and then taking train from there back home. A good plan since the so called central park was a really nice suprise. I hadn’t been there before so it was cool to experience such a long forest walk right in the heart of the Helsinki area.

There is also a long distance walk called the Route 2000 in these paths, starting from Pasila and going through Paloheinä point and then entering the vast woods of Espoo and Nuuksio park, some 110 km in total. I have to do that one of these days, maybe at the end of the summer if still longing to hit a long trail again. Anyway I was following that path today the last half.

Route 2000 map

The walk went extremely easily today and I was back home in good time, around 1:30 pm. Now the next days will include just washing up the clothes and putting the gear ready for the expedition. And not forgetting to eat as much as I can, to have some spare fats to be burnt:) I’ll give a final post before leaving so stay tuned.

The typical look of the Central Park scenery

3 thoughts on “Sunday walk: Last training 26km

  1. It must have been a nice walk, starting so early in the morning! I have also been thinking about walking the Route 2000, the idea of it is pretty nice.

    I’ll stay tuned, but wish you already a nice and enjoyable Cleveland Way in the UK – I wish I was there!

  2. Thanks Maria! Yep, early mornings have something special in my opinion and is good to get the routine already for the coming expedition 🙂 The concept of Route 2000 is indeed quite interesting, I’m just wondering homa many people are aware that such a trail exists here… I found it by chance:P

  3. I just finished watching pheasant from my window, came across your blog, and who is here? A pheasant ^^ I haven’t seen any in my first year in Finland, but this year they seem to be everywhere.

    I heard about Route 2000, but don’t remember where I found out about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

